Not Just Another Pretty Face 2010

Hyde Park Art Center is pleased to present the fourth installment of an ongoing successful program intended to encourage a new and diverse public to think of themselves as patrons or leaders of contemporary art. Potential patrons and Chicago artists are brought together through a series of presentations and social events to build a relationship and commission new work that re-contextualizes the age-old trope of portraiture. The exhibition presents these 80-100 completed new works that result from the year-long program.

Created by the Hyde Park Art Center, Not Just Another Pretty Face allows the Art Center to play matchmaker for artists and potential art buyers and creates a new base of support for artists, and invests in the vitality of Chicago’s cultural community.

The program takes place every three years and is meant to involve a broad range of patrons and artists, with commissions ranging from in the hundreds to tens of thousands of dollars. To date, the Art Center has raised over $700,000—half of which goes directly into the hands of artists, with the other half going to support Art Center programs. All of this results in an exhibition of the original works of art, a catalog documenting the process, and a lively event to unveil the finished pieces, which will make their way to the patrons’ homes following the exhibition.

  • November 20, 2010 – February 27, 2011
  • Gallery 1, 2  & Cleve E. Carney Gallery

Not Just Another Pretty Face

Commissioned Artists

Kyle Anderson, Cousandra Armstrong, Hebru Brantley, Gillion Carrara, Stan Chisholm, Luis DeLaTorre, Theodore C. Feaster, Stephen Flemister, Lora Fosberg, Theaster Gates, Aron Gent, Ben Gest, Kendall Glover, Ethan Green, Tom Harris, Juarez Hawkins, John Himmelfarb, Jin Soo Kim, Christian Kuras, Duncan MacKenzie, Angela Lee, Miki Lee, Cydney M. Lewis, Michelle Litvin, Julius Lyles, Danny Mansmith, Adelheid Mers, Jessie Mott, Paul Nudd, Joyce Owens, Andy Paczos, Leah Patgorski, Melissa Ann Pinney, Duane Preston, Felicia Grant Preston, Mary Qian, Donna Radcliffe, Judith Raphael, Darrell Roberts, Joanne Scott, Deb Sokolow, Mel Watkin, Darryl Webb, Glenn Wexler, Rhonda Wheatley, Amanda Williams, Bernard Williams, Julian Williams, Shyvette Williams, and Trish Williams.


Tom Bachtell, Michelle & Greg Beckett, Marie Boone-Clark, Danielle Bozarth & Michael Haberkorn, Jillisa Brittan & Jeffrey Smith, Katie Campbell, Sam J. Ciulla, Dan Delany, Bruce Doblin, Ciaran Escoffery, Winnifred French, Marie Gipson, Julie & John Guida, Lee Hansberry-Williams, James Harvey, Jeffrey Helbling & Peri Altan, Brian Herbstritt, Michelle, Glenn Holland, & Bradley Holland, Lois Iseminger, Deone Jackman & Eugene Goldwasser, Christina Jensen & Drew Frees, Janis Kanter & Thomas McCormick, Handy & Kristin Lindsey, Michelle Litvin, Kate Lorenz, Claudia Luebbers, Anna & Paul Marks, Talmadge Mason, Patric McCoy, Lisa Gaines McDonald, Rafi Mottahedeh & Harry Bastarmajian, Michelle Olson, Richard Orlikoff, Daniel T. Parker, Crystal Pernell, Felicia Grant Preston & Ronald Preston, Allison Peters Quinn & Colm Quinn, William Savage, Chuck & Beth Sklarsky, Linda Erf Swift & Gustavus Swift, Chuck Thurow, Rachel Tuuri, Linda Warren, Gerald & Casey Williams, and Carol Yohanan.